top of page
Writer's pictureJemilia Peter

Melanin Monday

Updated: Jul 21, 2021

An Apology

"The black skin is not a badge of shame but rather a glorious symbol of national greatness.” -Marcus Garvey

 

Today, I'm sending out an apology to all my Melanin Queens and Kings.


I'm sorry that most of society doesn't see or understand the true beauty of your melanin. I'm sorry that to some, your melanin infused skin symbolizes danger instead of strength. I'm sorry for all the lives that were stolen because they wore their melanin with great pride. I'm sorry that your melanin often leaves you feeling powerless instead of powerful. I'm sorry that your melanin is misunderstood and mistreated instead of celebrated.


I know you need more than words, more than a post but we have to start somewhere..


Why not within our very own community?


Our melanin is evidence of excellence, greatness is embedded in our bones.


It's up to us to protect our youth, protect each other and build a stronger and better community.


We can accomplish so much more together than apart.



8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Jason
Jason
Mar 08, 2021

"We shine in the sunlight and glow in the moonlight" 🥰🥰

Like
bottom of page